1954: Impostor Syndrome

This forum is for the individual discussion thread that goes with each new comic.

Moderators: Moderators General, Prelates, Magistrates

crystalmeph

1954: Impostor Syndrome

Postby crystalmeph » Mon Feb 12, 2018 2:39 pm UTC

Title Text: It's actually worst in people who study the Dunning–Kruger effect. We tried to organize a conference on it, but the only people who would agree to give the keynote were random undergrads.

I guess no-one else feels competent enough to post this. If I try, do you promise not to berate me for being so incompetent at it?

For real though, I feel like impostor syndrome is more common in the technology field, what with all the high-speed changes we're supposed to keep up with. I'm always worried that I'm going to be outed for not keeping up with the latest javascript frameworks, even though I'm an embedded developer.

New User

Re: 1954: Impostor Syndrome

Postby New User » Mon Feb 12, 2018 2:50 pm UTC

And now Wikipedia gets a sudden uptick in hits for the article on the Dunning-Kruger effect.

cellocgw

Postby cellocgw » Mon Feb 12, 2018 2:51 pm UTC

New User wrote:And now Wikipedia gets a sudden uptick in hits for the article on the Dunning-Kruger effect.

It gets more interesting if you take the position that their names are actually Jason Dunning and Freddie Kruger
https://app.box.com/witthoftresume
Former OTTer
Vote cellocgw for President 2020. #ScienceintheWhiteHouse http://cellocgw.wordpress.com
"The Planck length is 3.81779e-33 picas." -- keithl
" Earth weighs almost exactly π milliJupiters" -- what-if #146, note 7

skout

Postby skout » Mon Feb 12, 2018 5:13 pm UTC

New User wrote:And now Wikipedia gets a sudden uptick in hits for the article on the Dunning-Kruger effect.

I recognized this immediately and refused to cooperate. I will remain ignorant (so far as anyone peeking at my Google history knows!)

Velo Steve

Postby Velo Steve » Mon Feb 12, 2018 5:46 pm UTC