History Books (Non-Fiction and novel) - Literary Canon

A slow, analog alternative to the internet

Moderators: SecondTalon, Moderators General, Prelates

Chromer

History Books (Non-Fiction and novel) - Literary Canon

Postby Chromer » Sat Mar 12, 2011 8:46 am UTC

I never expected to fall in love with history books, for I am studying to become a teacher of mathematics.

I'm curious if others share the same sentiment, and, if that is so, we could compile a listing of books to form a useful literary canon for history.
Jahoclave suggests this is similar to New Historicism.

Perhaps if this becomes popular then we could separate the list into categories and subcategories: U.S. History, World History, different wars, etc.

Have a hard time recalling what you have read? No sweat, just try to answer these questions:
What books were you required to read in high school (and did those books educate you)?
What books were you required to read in college (likewise, did those books educate you)?
What books have you purchased, read, and enjoyed in your own free time (opinions)?
What books have you heard of but have not yet read (and how do you anticipate each will be)?
What other books do you know of that are required readings for other courses, perhaps with links for course syllabi?

Books that I am currently reading (or have finished):
*Note the left leaning and male bias with exception for the conservative nature of Austen and libertarian perspective of Rand.
Sense and Sensibility - Jane Austen (conservative)
Primary Colors - Anonymous (the author, later revealed, is Joe Klein)
Brave New World - Aldous Huxley (chilling dangers of genetic engineering from an author in 1931)
Overthrow - Stephen Kinzer
The Grapes of Wrath - John Steinbeck (Steinbeck was a Communist)
Slave and Citizen - Nathan Irvin Huggins
The Twentieth Century - Howard Zinn (Zinn, Communist)
The United States: A Brief Narrative HIstory - Link Hullar and Scott Nelson (Link Hullar is liberal)