RPG Maker and other Game Engines

Of the Tabletop, and other, lesser varieties.

Moderators: SecondTalon, Moderators General, Prelates

Adam H

RPG Maker and other Game Engines

Postby Adam H » Tue Apr 02, 2013 10:09 pm UTC

I've been playing some old adventure games (King's Quest and Quest for Glory... so good...) and I'm inspired to make a similar game. I also have loads of other ideas for worlds, stories, and game mechanics that have been swirling around in my head for a while - it's not just this one.

I'm not a programmer... I have done several mods for Warcraft and Starcraft, including some RPG/adventure type stuff, but they often don't work out the way I want because of the built-in limitations. I've also tried to mod Skyrim but it doesn't seem like something I can handle. So I think I want to use something like RPG Maker, or one of the similar products out there. Also, since this wouldn't necessarily be an RPG, Game Maker might work for me too. The lite version of that is free so I'll look at it sometime.

Anyways, my questions:
1) Can anyone recommend RPG Maker, Game Maker, or a similar product for someone who doesn't code (much)? If so, want to share a game you made?
2) What can you do and what can't you do with different game engines? (Vague question, I know)
3) Would anyone be interested in collaborating on a game?
Last edited by Adam H on Wed Apr 03, 2013 8:13 pm UTC, edited 1 time in total.
-Adam

Amnesiasoft

Re: RPG Maker and Game Design

Postby Amnesiasoft » Wed Apr 03, 2013 6:26 pm UTC

In the vein of software like RPG Maker and Game Maker, I'd say use RPG Maker if that is exactly the kind of game you want to make, because RPG Maker is not a very flexible system. It's basically able to make top-down RPG games with turn based menu combat and nothing else. Admittedly, the last time I used Game Maker was forever ago, but I'd personally recommend Construct 2 or Multimedia Fusion 2 over it. I found them to be a lot more friendly to use.

Adam H