Page 1 of 1

Building a website with database(s)

Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2014 1:56 pm UTC
by roband
If I was looking to build a website that used databases, which tools (if any) should I use?

I have domain names so far, not much else.

Do I need seperate tools for websites and databases? Is there a website that will do the whole thing for me?

Thanks, in advance, for the advice.

Re: Building a website with database(s)

Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2014 3:07 pm UTC
by Thesh
Are you looking to write your own, or are you looking for an off-the-shelf solution? All CMSs will handle the database without you having to worry about it. Most web hosts have one click installs for various CMSs , usually you will have Wordpress, Joomla, and Drupal at the very least.

Re: Building a website with database(s)

Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2014 4:14 pm UTC
by roband
Off the shelf is preferable, but I'd (learn how to) build my own if I had to.

The database complexity could be higher than anticipated on an off the shelf option, I worry.
I need to have forms to receive user details on a regular basis.

I've been messing around on https://www.knackhq.com/ - it looks great from the free trial, but the regular pricing is VERY high.

Re: Building a website with database(s)

Posted: Tue Aug 12, 2014 3:37 am UTC
by KnightExemplar
Do you know PHP?

Re: Building a website with database(s)

Posted: Tue Aug 12, 2014 8:11 am UTC
by roband
I do not.

Re: Building a website with database(s)

Posted: Tue Aug 12, 2014 6:37 pm UTC
by roband
Wanna get on wordpress to mess around, but it's not loading for anyone in the UK :(

Re: Building a website with database(s)

Posted: Tue Aug 12, 2014 6:46 pm UTC
by Thesh
Can you get to WordPress.org? If so, you can probably install a server and wordpress locally on your machine:

http://codex.wordpress.org/WordPress_In ... Techniques

It's a little bit of effort, but not too difficult. As for forms, every CMS will either have something built in or as a plugin to allow you to collect and store data in a form.

Re: Building a website with database(s)

Posted: Tue Aug 12, 2014 7:11 pm UTC
by roband
Yeah, that was my plan for now. But that site won't load for me (or any friends in the UK) on our router connected WiFis. It works fine on mobile devices on mobile data, but that's no good because I don't want to download it to my phone...

Re: Building a website with database(s)

Posted: Tue Aug 12, 2014 7:20 pm UTC
by Thesh
Try using a proxy server. Tor works too.

Re: Building a website with database(s)

Posted: Tue Aug 12, 2014 7:22 pm UTC
by roband
Good ideas, which I'd use if I was on my own machine with quick access.

Gonna play with an alternate CMS for now. SilverStripe. I'll be content with just messing around.

Re: Building a website with database(s)

Posted: Tue Aug 12, 2014 7:54 pm UTC
by roband
Leaning towards http://www.kualo.co.uk/ for hosting. Does anyone have a reason not to?

Wordpress became accessible again, so I'm going back towards that, but it seems to make sense to have hosting first.

Cancel that. The starter package here: https://www.vidahost.com/cloud-web-hosting/ would suit me, both in features and pricing.
As would the basic package here: http://www.eukhost.com/web-hosting/cpanel.php

Optionsoptionsoptions.

Re: Building a website with database(s)

Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2014 6:39 pm UTC
by roband
Went for vidahost. They gave me a free domain too, so I'll use that for a personal site to go alongside the domains I've bought for the website I'm doing all this for.

edit: well it was fucking confusing, but the first step has been made! http://agent4nderson.co.uk/