Undergraduate Statics Textbook

For the discussion of the sciences. Physics problems, chemistry equations, biology weirdness, it all goes here.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

whereswalden90

Undergraduate Statics Textbook

Postby whereswalden90 » Wed Nov 10, 2010 4:30 am UTC

I am an undergraduate physics student, but I want to go into mechanical engineering in grad school. Since my school doesn't offer a course in statics, I'm doing an independent study. Anybody have recommendations on textbooks?
Missing LaTeX functionality? This handy site renders equations and creates permalinks for them!
You, sir, name? wrote:
SummerGlauFan wrote:How about the entire movie 10,000 BC?

Yeah. I facepalmed at a rate of 30 Hz. It interfered with the TV.

feedme

Re: Undergraduate Statics Textbook

Postby feedme » Wed Nov 10, 2010 4:53 am UTC

My statics (and deformables) both used Hibbler; they seemed pretty well stated and decent enough

Zamfir
I built a novelty castle, the irony was lost on some.

Postby Zamfir » Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:07 am UTC

My university switched from Merriam and Kraige to Hibbeler, and people seemed happy with that switch. But never used Hibbeler myself.

Velifer

Postby Velifer » Wed Nov 10, 2010 1:35 pm UTC

I have Robert Johnson's Elementary Statistics, 7th ed. It starts off pretty good, (nice and slow with easily relatable examples) then quickly gets terrible. Later chapters aren't too bad.
Time flies like an arrow, fruit flies have nothing to lose but their chains -Marx

iroZn

Postby iroZn » Thu Nov 11, 2010 1:36 pm UTC