Slide rule tutorial?

For the discussion of math. Duh.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Prelates, Moderators General

Slide rule tutorial?

Postby ks_physicist » Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:47 pm UTC

My curiosity has the best of me, and I am looking for a good tutorial to learn how to use a slide rule. I figured out some functions, but I am not proficient and I think I probably don't know the tricks and shortcuts.

I have three of them, a POST/Hemmi, a Pickett Microline 120 (found behind a drawer in my office desk while I was a grad student!), and a Pickett Trainer 120 that came free with the POST/Hemmi.
ks_physicist

Postby Nimz » Thu Aug 30, 2007 11:37 pm UTC

Are you looking for something online tutorial, or for someone to write up a tutorial here? If you're looking for the latter, I can probably give you a good start. I'll need (one of) my (three) slide rule(s) in front of me to make sure I don't mislabel the scales, and the like. I might even be able to find the manual that came with my grandfather's Ricoh slide rule. Most (if not all) of what's there should be applicable to Pickett slide rules, too.

[edit: adding mini-tutorial]
I'm basing this mini-tutorial on my Pickett Microline 140.

Multiplication is usually done with the C and D scales, though it can be done with the CF and DF scales and even the B and A scales. Slide the 1 on the C scale (or CF or B, respectively) next to the first factor on the D scale (or DF or A, respectively). Then put the hairline on the second factor on the C scale and read off the product on the D scale. So 2x3 should look something like:
Code: Select all
  -------------------------------------------
  |            ------------------------------|----------
C |            1------------2-----3-----4--5-|6--7--8-91
D 1------------2------3-----4--5--6--7--8-91-