[Java] Multiple returns vs single exit

A place to discuss the implementation and style of computer programs.

Moderators: phlip, Moderators General, Prelates

Essah

[Java] Multiple returns vs single exit

Postby Essah » Tue Oct 23, 2012 7:54 am UTC

I'm a compute science student and our teacher initially taught us to always only have a single return for each method, but have since discovered that it's a subject for debate and some teachers and code handed out actually use multiple returns.

http://programmers.stackexchange.com/questions/118703/where-did-the-notion-of-one-return-only-come-from
There's a discussion about it here but I was wondering what the opinion about it is here?
I find that sometimes making multiple returns makes things easier but at the same time I can see how debugging is easier with a single exit for each method.
What's the opinion around here? Outdated practice or a good coding principle?

also yay my first post in the Coding board here so hi everybody. Suspect it won't be my last. :mrgreen:

jaap

Re: [Java] Multiple returns vs single exit

Postby jaap » Tue Oct 23, 2012 8:43 am UTC

My experience is that returns in the middle of long functions make it harder to understand what is going on, or worse, easier to misunderstand what it is doing. If you need a return in the middle of a long function, then you are probably better off splitting off all the code before it and all the code after it into separate smaller functions. Usually those two parts of code do conceptually different things and so can be put into functions with descriptive function names.